Skip to main content
Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary National Marine Sanctuaries Home Page National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Home Page

MBNMS SAC Meeting Agenda; June 2, 2000

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council Meeting

February 2, 2001
Best Western - The Beach Resort
2600 Sand Dunes Drive
Monterey, CA 93940


9:00 AM

  • Call to Order
  • Swear-in of new SAC Members
  • Roll Call
  • Approval of 12/1/00 DRAFT Meeting Minutes

Stephanie Harlan

9:20 AM

Self-Introduction of New SAC members


10:00 AM

Election of new Vice-Chair and Secretary


10:30 AM

Introduction of Visiting SAC Chairs, SAC Coordinators and Headquarters Staff


11:00 AM

Comments from Outgoing Council Memebers Council member & Staff announcements


11:15 AM

Public Comment on Items Not on the Agenda


11:30 AM

Office of National Marine Sanctuaries - Director

  • New ONMS Director
  • Budget update

Dan Basta

12:00 PM

Update: SAC Chair-Coordinator Meeting

Harlan/Liz Moore

12:30 PM


1:30 PM

Update and Action: Sanctuary Integrated Monitoring Network (SIMoN)

Mario Tamburri

2:00 PM

Discussion: Fair Market Study re: Fiber Optic Cables

Vicki Nichols/Douros

2:30 PM

Presentation: Management Plan Review

Douros/Liz Moore

3:30 PM

Discussion: NAPA Report recommendations

NAPA Subcommittee

4:00 PM

Update: Kelp Management Report

Vicki Nichols

4:30 PM

Action: Set April 6 Agenda


4:45 PM


* Times are approximate -- an item may be presented or discussed sooner or later than shown on the agenda.

DIRECTIONS (view map):

From the north take Highway 101 south (towards Los Angeles). Remain on Highway 101 south and exit on the Monterey Peninsula Exit - Highway 156. Highway 156 will become Highway 1. Continue on approximately 18 miles south on Highway 1. Exit from Highway 1 at the Canyon Del Rey exit at Highway 218. THE • BEACH Resort is located right on the beach just off Highway 1.

The Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council was established by Federal law to assure continued public participation in the management of the Sanctuary. Since its establishment in March 1994, the Council has played a vital role in the decisions affecting the Sanctuary along the central California Coast. The Council's nineteen voting members represent a variety of local user groups, as well as the general public, plus seven local, state and federal governmental jurisdictions. In addition, the respective managers for the four California National Marine Sanctuaries (Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary, Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary, Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary, and the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary) and the Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve sit as non-voting members. Members are appointed competitively by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and serve three-year terms. The Council meets bi-monthly in open sessions located throughout the 360-mile boundary of the Sanctuary.

The Council maintains a firm commitment to the goals and objectives of the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Program. The Council appreciates the efforts of volunteers, non-profit organizations, businesses, and citizens, without whose support the mission of the Sanctuary would be difficult to realize.