Skip to main content
Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary National Marine Sanctuaries Home Page National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Home Page

SAC Meeting Agenda
February 7th , 2003

A PDF Version of this page is available here:

02/07/03 DRAFT Agenda

Need PDF Help?


FEBRUARY 7, 2003



8:45 AM Coffee and Sign-in  
9:15 AM

Call to Order

Roll Call
(SAC Member list)

Swearing in new Citizen At-Large

SAC Members

Election of SAC Secretary

Welcome from City of Watsonville

 Stephanie Harlan
  Approval of 10/4/02 DRAFT Meeting Minutes
12/6/02 Draft SAC Meeting Minutes
  Standard Reports from Working Groups and Staff
SAC Office Report December-January
MBNMS Permit Report 2/03
See the list of Correspondence files below
9:30 AM

Public Comments and Items Not on the Agenda

Stephanie Harlan
10:00 AM

Proposed SAC Resolution on Cruise Ship Discharges(PDF)

Proposed SAC Action Item

  • Public Comments
  • SAC Discussion and Action
Vicki Nichols / Kaitilin Gaffney
11:00 AM NOAA Coordination on Fishing Issues-Public Comment (PDF) Stephanie Harlan
11:30 AM

Oil Spill Prevention and Response Issues

Oil Spill Contingency Planning and Response Update

  • Presentation by Heather Parker, NOAA SSC

Field Report from Spain – T/V Prestige oil spill

  • Presentation by Michelle Templeton, MBNMS

Notification Policy for Transit of Hull Damaged Large Vessels in the Sanctuary

  • CWG Memo re: Damaged Vessels(PDF)
  • Article From Ventura County Star(PDF)

Proposed SAC Action Item

Stephanie Harlan








Vicki Nichols / Kaitilin Gaffney

12:30 PM LUNCH  
12:15 PM

Chair's Report-Sanctuary Staffing Issue (PDF)

Proposed SAC Action Item

Stephanie Harlan/Deborah Streeter
1:30 PM

Sanctuary Scenic Trail Update (AMBAG Letter PDF, Resolution PDF)

  • Information regarding Monterey Bay efforts

Proposed SAC Action Item:
Resolution of Support

Nicolas Papadakis, AMBAG/Stephanie Harlan/Jen Jolly/
Dawn Hayes
2:30 PM Joint Management Plan Review: Update; SAC Meetings Sean Morton
3:00 PM SAC Member Announcements ALL
3:30 PM


Next Meeting Aprit 4th, 2003, Big Sur



Directions to the Watsonville Elks Lodge:
From the north, take Hwy 1 south to Watsonville. Take the Airport Blvd. exit. Take a right onto Freedom Blvd. and then a left onto Martinelli Street. The Elks Lodge is on the right hand side at the end of Martinelli Street (before East Lake Avenue). From the south, take Hwy 1 north to Watsonville. Take the Riverside Road/129 exit. Take a left at Blackburn Court and continue to East Lake Avenue and make a right. Then take a left at Martinelli Street and an immediate left into the Elks Lodge parking lot. (Click here for map)

Article From Ventura County Star (1/11/03)
CWG Memo re: Damaged Vessels (1/22/03)
CWG Background Memo on Cruise Ship Issues (1/23/03)
Regulatory Coordination Between NMSP & NMFS (1/24/03)
AMBAG Letter to SAC (1/31/03)
AMBAG Resolution for MBNMS Scenic Trail (1/31/03)
SAC Memo on MBNMS Staffing (1/31/03)
SAC Office Report December-January
MBNMS Permit Report 2/03


Letter from City of San Luis Obispo (12/04/02)

Letter from the League of Women Voters (12/05/02)

Letter from Alliance of Communities for Sustainable Fisheries (12/12/02)

About PDF and HTML Files
Please note these files are available in several different formats. Please click on the format you would like to view. HTML and TEXT formats are best for quick viewing on the screen within your web browser. PDF files allow you to download the file to your computer and print them out at full resolution. For more information on how to use PDF files please click here.

About SAC
The Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council was established by Federal law to assure continued public participation in the management of the Sanctuary. Since its establishment in March 1994, the Council has played a vital role in the decisions affecting the Sanctuary along the central California Coast. The Council's nineteen voting members represent a variety of local user groups, as well as the general public, plus seven local, state and federal governmental jurisdictions. In addition, the respective managers for the four California National Marine Sanctuaries (Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary, Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary, Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary, and the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary) and the Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve sit as non-voting members. Members are appointed competitively by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and serve three-year terms. The Council meets bi-monthly in open sessions located throughout the 360-mile boundary of the Sanctuary.

The Council maintains a firm commitment to the goals and objectives of the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Program. The Council appreciates the efforts of volunteers, non-profit organizations, businesses, and citizens, without whose support the mission of the Sanctuary would be difficult to realize.