Skip to main content
Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary National Marine Sanctuaries Home Page National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Home Page

DRAFT Sanctuary Advisory Council "Emergency" Meeting Agenda
July 19th, 2017

A PDF Version of this page is available here:

7/19/17 Agenda

Need PDF Help?

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary
Advisory Council "Emergency" Meeting

MBNMS Conference Room
99 Pacific Street, Monterey

1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
Monday, July 19th, 2017


1:00 PM Call to Order & Roll Call Paul Michel (MBNMS), PJ Webb (Chair), Brian Nelson (Secretary)
1:10 PM Superintendent’s Remarks Paul Michel (MBNMS)
1:20 PM Action Item: A revised letter of public comment to on the President’s Executive Order on National Marine Sanctuaries (Sec. 4(b)(ii)) PJ Webb (Chair)
2:00 PM Adjourn  



  • Public comment on agenda items will be heard prior to SAC discussion/deliberation
  • A motion for action may be made by a council member at any time, provided there is a quorum
  • Materials corresponding to items on this or other agendas are available here or contact Kristen Hart at (831) 647-4206.


MBNMS Permit Report (186K PDF*)  
MBNMS Office Report (978K PDF*)  
Conservation Working Group Meeting Notes (K PDF*)  
Research Activity Panel Meeting Notes (142K PDF*)  



About Sanctuary Advisory Council
The Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council (advisory council) was established by Federal law to assure continued public participation in the management of the Sanctuary. Since its establishment in March 1994, the advisory council has played a vital role in the decisions affecting the Sanctuary along the central California Coast. The advisory council's nineteen voting members represent a variety of local user groups, as well as the general public, plus seven local, state and federal governmental jurisdictions. In addition, the respective managers for the four California National Marine Sanctuaries (Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary, Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary, Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary, and the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary) and the Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve sit as non-voting members. Members are appointed competitively by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and serve three-year terms. The advisory council meets bi-monthly in open sessions located throughout the 360-mile boundary of the Sanctuary.

The advisory council maintains a firm commitment to the goals and objectives of the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Program. The advisory council appreciates the efforts of volunteers, non-profit organizations, businesses, and citizens, without whose support the mission of the Sanctuary would be difficult to realize.

Reviewed: April 11, 2024
Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service

Take Our Survey | Privacy Statement | Site Disclaimer
National Marine Sanctuaries | National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration |