Skip to main content


Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary National Marine Sanctuaries Home Page National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Home Page

FINAL Sanctuary Advisory Council Virtual Meeting
April 15th, 2022

A PDF Version of this page is available here:

4/15/2022 Agenda

Need PDF Help?

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary
Advisory Council Virtual Presentation

This was a web based virtual presentation due to the ongoing precautions related to limit the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19)

9:00 AM – 1:30 PM
Friday, April 15th, 2022


9:00 AM Call to Order, Webinar Technology Check-in & Roll Call
  • Roll Call
  • Approval of February 18th, 2022 meeting minutes
Brian Nelson (Chair), Sarah Lopez (Secretary)
  Standard Reports from Staff

MBNMS Permit Report (161K PDF*) PDF
MBNMS Office Report (471K PDF*) PDF
Conservation Working Group Meeting Notes (K PDF*)  
Research Activity Panel Meeting Notes (142K PDF*) PDF
Advisory Council Member Announcements (K PDF*) PDF
9:15 AM Standing Item: Superintendent's Report
A report on important or newsworthy activities conducted by staff since the last AC meeting
Lisa Wooninck (MBNMS), Brian Johnson (CBNMS/GFNMS)
9:45 AM Action Item: NOAA Building resolution Brian Nelson (Chair)
10:00 AM Information Item: Diversity and Inclusion (part 1)
Cultural Bridges: Cultivating Equity in The Outdoors
Irma Cuevas (CBNMS Vice Chair)
11:00 AM Break (15 minutes)  
11:15 AM Information Item: Diversity and Inclusion (part 2)
From Theory to Practice: DEIJ Principles in Action in MBNMS
Rachel Kippen (Conservation)
11:50 AM Introduction: Adhoc Indigenous Communities Working Group of the Advisory Council PJ Webb (At-Large), Brian Nelson (Chair), Lisa Wooninck (MBNMS)
12:00 PM Public Comment for Items Not on the Agenda Brian Nelson (Chair)
12:15 PM Information Item: Implementing the Marine Debris Action Plan: Marine Debris and Microplastics:
Latest Activities and Successes of Ag Field Plastic Pollution Prevention
Bridget Hoover (MBNMS), Jazmine Meija-Muños (MBNMS), Chad King (MBNMS)
1:00 PM Break (15 minutes)  
1:10 PM Information Item: Microplastics (continued)
Lauren Kashiwabara, Matt Savoca
2:00 PM Adjourn  



  • Public comment on agenda items will be heard prior to SAC discussion/deliberation
  • A motion for action may be made by a council member at any time, provided there is a quorum
  • Materials corresponding to items on this or other agendas are available here or contact Dawn Hayes at (831) 647-4256 or by email.


Virtual Meeting Directions:

Please Read All Directions
  1. Register in advance:
  2. This meeting will use GoToWebinar, a multi-platform program that's free to use.
    • The Webinar ID number is 597–736–843.
    • If you are unable to participate online, you can connect to the meeting by phone using +1 (562) 247–8422 and the attendee code is 447–573–009.
  3. You will begin in muted mode, but the meeting moderator can un–mute your connection at appropriate times.
  4. Public Members: To give a public comment, use the "Raise Hand" feature, and when called upon by the meeting moderator you will be un-muted and given 3 minutes for a verbal comment. Public comment will be received during the 15-minute public comment session beginning at 9:45 or during the designated time for each agenda item.
  5. If you have trouble accessing the Webinar, or problems during the session that you are unable to enter into the online Question Box, you can send an email to or call/text (831) 236–6536


About Sanctuary Advisory Council
The Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council (advisory council) was established by Federal law to assure continued public participation in the management of the Sanctuary. Since its establishment in March 1994, the advisory council has played a vital role in the decisions affecting the Sanctuary along the central California Coast. The advisory council's nineteen voting members represent a variety of local user groups, as well as the general public, plus seven local, state and federal governmental jurisdictions. In addition, the respective managers for the four California National Marine Sanctuaries (Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary, Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary, Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary, and the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary) and the Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve sit as non-voting members. Members are appointed competitively by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and serve three-year terms. The advisory council meets bi-monthly in open sessions located throughout the 360-mile boundary of the Sanctuary.

The advisory council maintains a firm commitment to the goals and objectives of the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Program. The advisory council appreciates the efforts of volunteers, non-profit organizations, businesses, and citizens, without whose support the mission of the Sanctuary would be difficult to realize.

Reviewed: April 11, 2024
Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service

Take Our Survey | Privacy Statement | Site Disclaimer
National Marine Sanctuaries | National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration |