Skip to main content
Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary National Marine Sanctuaries Home Page National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Home Page

MBNMS Sanctuary Advisory Council Members

Non-Governmental
Members

Governmental
Members

Non-Voting
Members

 

 

 

 

Officers

   
   

 

Non-Governmental Members

 

Agriculture
 

      Mr. Kirk Schmidt
Primary
Central Coast Water Quality
Preservation, Inc.
(831) 761-8644
kschmidt@ccwqp.org
Ms. Kris Beal
Alternate
Executive Director
Vineyard Team
(805) 466-2288
kris@vineyardteam.org
 

Business/Industry
 

      Ms. Jessica Grigsby
Primary
Owner
Kayak Connection
(831) 479-1121
jessica@kayakconnection.com
Ms. Krista Hammond
Alternate
Owner
Santa Cruz Sea Glass
(831) 332-7188
krista@santacruzseaglass.com
 

Commercial Fishing
 

      Ms. Kathy Fosmark
Primary
West Coast Commercial Fishing
(831) 373-5238
kfosmark@aol.com
Captain Jim Moser
Alternate
Captain, F/V Tradewind
(831) 246-1408
tradewind39@gmail.com
 

Conservation
 

      Dr. Geoffrey Shester, Ph.D.
Primary
California Program Director
Oceana
(831) 643-9266
gshester@oceana.org
Ms. Lauren Dockendorf
Alternate
Operations and Marketing Coordinator
Save Our Shores
(831) 462-5660 ext.1#
lauren@saveourshores.org
 

Diving
 

      Mr. Brian Nelson
Primary
Dive Boat Captain
PADI Course Director
City of Monterey - Marine Operations Specialists
(408) 483-8721
brian@pcscuba.com
Mr. Philip Sammet
Alternate
Dive Boat Captain and
Technical Dive Trainer
(831) 915-6600
captdeep@redshift.com
 

Education
 

      Dr. Simona Bartl, Ph.D.
Primary
Adjunct Professor
Moss Landing Marine Labs
(831) 771-4431
sbartl@mlml.calstate.edu
Ms. Amity Sandage
Alternate
Coordinator
Santa Cruz County Office of Education
(831) 466-5711
asandage@santacruz.k12.ca.us
 

Recreation
 

      Mr. Gary Pezzi
Primary & Vice Chair
Associate Vice President
Morgan Stanley
(831) 440-5200
sta2bd@aol.com
Mr. Barton Selby
Alternate
Consultant
(650) 245-1974
bartongselby@gmail.com
 

Recreational Fishing
 

      Mr. Richard Hughett
Primary
Recreational Fisherman
(831) 757-5709
rlh@redshift.com
Mr. Robert Chatham
Alternate
President
Chatham Enterprise
(831) 747-4274
chathamintl@msn.com
 

Research
 

      Dr. James Lindholm, Ph.D.
Primary
Professor
CSU Monterey Bay
(831) 582-4662
jlindholm@csumb.edu
Dr. John Hunt, Ph.D.
Alternate
Research Toxicologist
UC Davis Dept. of Environmental Toxicology
(831) 566-0044
jwhunt@ucdavis.edu
 

Tourism
 

      Mr. Michael Bekker
Primary
Cannery Row Company
(831) 649-2603
mbekker@canneryrow.com
Mr. Robert Massaro
Alternate
Monterey Fisherman's Wharf Association
(831) 649-6544
bmassaro@bostrommanagement.com
 

At-Large
 

      Mr. James Panetta
Primary
Deputy District Attorney
Monterey County District Attorney's Office
jimmy.panetta@gmail.com
Ms. Elizabeth (Tucker) Hirsch
Alternate
Science Editor
National Geographic Learning
(908) 256-9304
tucker.hirsch@gmail.com
 
      Mr. Dan Haifley
Primary & Secretary
Executive Director
O'Neill Sea Odyssey
(831) 465-9390
dhaifley@oneillseaodyssey.org
Ms. Cynthia Mathews
Primary
Santa Cruz City Council Member
(831) 423-8977
cmathews@cityofsantacruz.com
 
      Ms. Margaret Webb
Primary & Chair
Attorney
(805) 927-2987
pjwebb@inreach.com
Mr. Gary Hoffmann
Alternate
Engineer
gqhwd@yahoo.com
 
  

Governmental Members

 

AMBAG
 

      Ms. Lynn Robinson
Primary
Mayor
City of Santa Cruz
(831) 420-5020
lrobinson@cityofsantacruz.com  
Mr. Steve McShane
Alternate
City of Salinas Council Member
(831) 455-1876
steve@mcshanesnursery.com
 

CA Coastal Commission
 

      Mr. Dan Carl
Primary
North Central/Central Coast District Director
(831) 426-4863
dan.carl@coastal.ca.gov
Ms. Tami Grove
Alternate
Statewide Development and Transportation Program Manager
(831) 427-4863
tami.grove@coastal.ca.gov
 

CA Dept of Fish and Wildlife
 

      Mr. Paul N. Reilly
Primary
Senior Environmental Scientist
Marine Region
(831) 649-2879
paul.reilly@wildlife.ca.gov
Deb Wilson-Vandenberg
Alternate
Senior Environmental Scientist
Marine Region
(831) 649-2892
deb.wilson-vandenberg@wildlife.ca.gov
 

CA EPA
 

      Dr. Maria de la Paz Carpio-Obeso
Primary
Ocean Unit Chief
State Water Resources Control Board
(916) 341-5858
marielapaz.carpio-obeso@waterboards.ca.gov
Ms. Lisa McCann
Alternate
Program Manager
Central Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board
(805) 549-3132
lmccann@waterboards.ca.gov
 

CA Resources Agency
 

      Ms. Catherine Kuhlman
Primary
Deputy Secretary
Ocean and Coastal Policy
(916) 653-5656
catherine.kuhlman@resources.ca.gov
Ms. Cyndi Dawson
Alternate
Marine Protected Areas Policy Advisor
Ocean Protection Council
(916) 653-0542
cyndi.dawson@resources.ca.gov
 

CA State Parks
 

      Mr. Mat Fuzie
Primary
District Superintendent
Monterey District
(831) 649-2836
mat.fuzie@parks.ca.gov
Mr. Nick Franco
Alternate
District Superintendent
San Luis Obispo Coast District
(850) 927-2065
nick.franco@parks.ca.gov
 

Harbors
 

      Mr. Steve Scheiblauer
Primary
Harbormaster
Monterey Harbor
(831) 646-3950
scheibla@ci.monterey.ca.us
Ms. Linda G. McIntyre, Esq.
Alternate
General Manager/Harbor Master
Moss Landing Harbor District
(831) 633-5417
mcintyre@mosslandingharbor.dst.ca.us
         
      Mr. Peter Grenell
Alternate
General Manager
San Mateo County Harbor District
(Pillar Point Harbor)
(650) 583-4962
harbordistrict@smharbor.com
Ms. Lisa Ekers
Alternate
Port Director
Santa Cruz Harbor
(831) 475-6161
lekers@santacruzharbor.org
 
 

Non-Voting Members

 

Channel Islands NMS
 

      Mr. Chris Mobley
Primary
Superintendent
(805) 893-6416
chris.mobley@noaa.gov
Mr. Michael Murray
Alternate
Deputy Superintendant & SAC Coordinator
(805) 893-6418
michael.murray@noaa.gov
 

Cordell Bank NMS
 

      Mr. Dan Howard
Primary
Superintendent
(415) 663-1456
Dan.Howard@noaa.gov
Mr. Michael Carver
Alternate
Deputy Superintendant
(415) 663-1437
michael.carver@noaa.gov
 

Elkhorn Slough NERR
 

      Mr. Dave Feliz
Primary
Reserve Manager
(831) 728-2822 x 302
dave.feliz@wildlife.ca.gov
 
 

Gulf of The Farallones NMS
 

      Ms. Maria Brown
Primary
Superintendent
(415) 561-6622
maria.brown@noaa.gov
Mr. Brian Johnson
Alternate
Deputy Superintendant
(415) 561-6622 x 236
brian.johnson@noaa.gov
 

Monterey Bay NMS
 

      Mr. Paul Michel
Primary
Superintendent
(831) 647-4201
paul.michel@noaa.gov
Ms. Dawn Hayes
Alternate
Deputy Superintendant
(831) 647-4256
dawn.hayes@noaa.gov
 

National Marine Fisheries Service
 

      Dr. Steven Lindley
Primary
Director, Fisheries Ecology Division
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(831) 420-3921
steve.lindley@noaa.gov
Dr. Steven Bograd
Alternate
Research Oceanographer, Environmental Research Division
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(831) 648-8314
steven.bograd@noaa.gov
 

U.S. Coast Guard
 

      LT Cody Dunagan
Primary
Living Marine Resources Officer
US Coast Guard District 11
(510) 437-5332
cody.b.dunagan@uscg.mil
LCDR Joe Giammanco
Alternate
(510) 437-3374
joseph.s.giammanco@uscg.mil


SAC OFFICERS:

  • Margaret "PJ" Webb, Chair Elected April 2014
  • Gary Pezzi, Vice Chair Elected April 2014
  • Dan Haifley, Secretary Elected April 2014

FORMER OFFICERS:

  • Kirk Schmidt, Chair Elected April 2012
  • Margaret "PJ" Webb, Vice Chair Elected April 2012
  • Gary Pezzi, Secretary Elected April 2012
  • Margaret "PJ" Webb, Secretary Elected April 2010
  • Kirk Schmidt, Vice Chair Elected April 2008; Re-elected April 2010
  • Dr. Chris Harrold, Chair Elected April 2008; Re-elected April 2010
  • >Kaitilin Gaffney, Secretary Elected February 2008
  • Rev. Deborah Streeter, Chair Elected April 2004
  • Thomas Canale, Vice Chair Elected April 2004
  • Kaitilin Gaffney, Secretary Elected February 2005
  • Dan Haifley, Secretary Elected February 2001; Re-elected April 2004
  • Stephanie Harlan, Chair Elected April 2000
  • Richard Nutter, Vice Chair Elected February 2001
  • Steve Webster, Chair Elected April 1998
  • Steve Abbott, Vice Chair Elected April 1999
  • Ed Brown, Secretary Elected April 1998;Re-elected April 2000
  • Rachel Saunders, Vice Chair Elected June 1997
  • Karin Strasser Kauffman, Chair Elected March 1994; Re-elected April 1996
  • Steve Webster, Vice-Chair Elected March 1994; Re-elected April 1995
  • Jim Hall, Secretary Elected March 1994
  • Steve Abbott, Secretary Elected April 1995
  • David Iverson, Secretary Elected April 1996; Re-elected June 1997

 

URL: http://montereybay.noaa.gov/sac/sacmem.html    Reviewed: October 10, 2014
Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service

Privacy Statement | Site Disclaimer | User Survey
National Marine Sanctuaries | National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration | USA.gov