National marine sanctuary offices and visitor centers closed to the public; waters remain open

NOAA's national marine sanctuary offices and visitor centers are closed to the public while the waters remain open for responsible use in accordance with CDC guidance and local regulations. More information on the response from NOAA's Office of National Marine Sanctuaries can be found on sanctuaries.noaa.gov/coronavirus/.

Skip to main content
Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary National Marine Sanctuaries Home Page National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Home Page

MBNMS Sanctuary Advisory Council Members

Non-Governmental
Members

Governmental
Members

Non-Voting
Members

 

 

 

 

Officers

   
   

 

Non-Governmental Members

 

Agriculture
 

      Ms. Sarah Lopez
Primary
Central Coast Water Quality Preservation, Inc.
(831) 331-9051
sarah@ccwqp.org
Ms. Shandy Carroll
Alternate
Agricultural Resource and Policy Manager
Monterey County Agricultural Commission
(831) 759-7384
carrolls@co.monterey.ca.us
 

Business/Industry
 

      Mr. Al Budris
Primary
Adjunct Professor - College of Business
CSUMB
(831) 648-1522
abudris2@yahoo.com
Mr. Tom Rowley
Alternate
Realtor
Century 21 Monterey/MPCC
(831) 648-7271, ext. 113
TomR2004@hotmail.com
 

Commercial Fishing
 

      Ms. Kathy Fosmark
Primary
Co-Chair
Alliance of Communities for Sustainable Fisheries
(831) 238-0647
kfosmark@aol.com
Mr. Charles Lambert
Alternate
Ocean2table CSF / Commercial Fisherman
Co-Founder & Owner
(831) 428-2526
chambert1788@yahoo.com
 

Conservation
 

    Ms. Katherine O'Dea
Primary
Executive Director
Save Our Shores
(831) 462-5660, ext. 8
katherine@saveourshores.org
Ms. Rachel Kippen
Alternate
Executive Director
O'Neill Sea Odyssey
(808) 728-1136
rachel@oneillseaodyssey.com
 

Diving
 

      Mr. Brian Nelson
Primary & Chair
Dive Boat Captain
PADI Course Director
City of Monterey - Marine Operations Specialists
(408) 483-8721
brian@pcscuba.com
Mr. Keith Rootsaert
Alternate
Construction Project Manager
Salas O'Brien Engineers, Inc
(408) 206-0721
keith.rootsaert@salasobrien.com
 

Education
 

      Ms. Pamela Neeb Wade
Primary
Secondary School Programs Manager
Monterey Bay Aquarium
(831) 644-7590
pwade@mbayaq.org
VACANT
Alternate
 
 
 
 
 

Recreation
 

      Mr. Gary Pezzi
Primary & Secretary
Associate Vice President
Morgan Stanley
(831) 419-3252
sta2bd@gmail.com
Mr. Barton Selby
Alternate
Consultant
(650) 245-1974
bartongselby@gmail.com
 

Recreational Fishing
 

      Mr. Jose Montes
Primary
Retired San Jose Police Sergeant
(831) 261-7160
pistolerocaptain1@gmail.com
VACANT
Alternate
 
 
 
 
 

Research
 

      Dr. John Hunt, Ph.D.
Primary
Research Toxicologist
UC Davis Dept. of Environmental Toxicology
(831) 566-0044
jwhunt@ucdavis.edu
Dr. Steven Haddock
Alternate
Senior Scientist
MBARI
(831) 775-1793
haddock@mbari.org
 

Tourism
 

      Mr. Michael Bekker
Primary
Cannery Row Company
(831) 649-2603
mbekker@canneryrow.com
VACANT
Alternate
 
 
 
 
 

At-Large
 

      Ms. Margaret Webb
Primary & Vice Chair
Attorney
(805) 927-2987
pjwebb@inreach.com
Mr. Dan Haifley
Primary
(831) 234-8148
dan.haifley@gmail.com
 
      Ms. Carol Maehr
Alternate
Citizen Scientist
(831) 373-3752
cmaehr1@gmail.com
Ms. Cynthia Mathews
Alternate
Santa Cruz City Council Member
(831) 423-8977
cmathews@cityofsantacruz.com
 
      Mr. Gary Hoffmann
Primary
Engineer
gqhwd@yahoo.com  
Gwen Kellas
Alternate
Retired
(805) 857-2646
gkellas@verizon.net
 
  

Governmental Members

 

AMBAG
 

      Mr. Steve McShane
Primary
Councilmember
Salinas City Council District 3
(831) 970-4141
steve@mcshanenursery.com
Ms. Kristen Petersen
Alternate
Councilmember
City of Captiola
(831) 435-0806
ladykpetersen@gmail.com
      Ms. Jenny McAdams
Alternate
Councilmember
City of Pacific Grove
(831) 643-5065
jmcadams@cityofpacificgrove.org
 
         
 

CA Coastal Commission
 

      Mr. Dan Carl
Primary
North Central/Central Coast District Director
(831) 426-4863
dan.carl@coastal.ca.gov
Ms. Tami Grove
Alternate
Statewide Development and Transportation Program Manager
(831) 427-4863
tami.grove@coastal.ca.gov
 

CA Dept of Fish and Wildlife
 

      Mr. Paul N. Reilly
Primary
Senior Environmental Scientist
Marine Region
(831) 649-2879
paul.reilly@wildlife.ca.gov
Ms. Chelsea Protasio
Alternate
Environmental Scientist
Marine Region
(831) 649-2994
chelsea.protasio@wildlife.ca.gov
 

CA EPA
 

      Ms. Karen Mogus
Primary
Deputy Director
State Water Resources Control Board
(916) 341-5423
karen.mogus@waterboards.ca.gov
Ms. Julia Dyer
Alternate
Environmental Scientist
Regional Water Quality Control Board
(805) 542-4624
jdyer@waterboards.ca.gov
 

CA Resources Agency
 

      Mr. Mark Gold
Primary
Executive Director
Ocean Protection Council
mark.gold@resources.ca.gov
 
Ms. Tova Handelman
Alternate
Marine Protected Areas Program Manager
Ocean Protection Council
(916) 653-9486
tova.handelman@resources.ca.gov
 

CA State Parks
 

      Mr. Brent Marshall
Primary
District Superintendent
Monterey District
(831) 649-2836
brent.marshall@parks.ca.gov
Mr. Dan Falat
Alternate
Distrct Superintendent
San Luis Obispo Coast District
(850) 927-2065
dan.falat@parks.ca.gov
 

Harbors
 

      Mr. John Haynes
Harbormaster
City of Monterey
(831) 646-3951
haynes@monterey.org
VACANT
Moss Landing Harbor District
 
 
 
         
      Ms. Marian Olin
Santa Cruz Port District
(831) 475-6161
MOlin@santacruzharbor.org
VACANT
Pillar Point Harbor
San Mateo County Harbor District
 
 
 
 

Non-Voting Members

 

College
 

      Mr. Jacob Winnikoff
Primary
Student
(805) 708-8415
jwinniko@ucsc.edu
Ms. Victoria Dickey
Alternate
Student
Moss Landing Marine Laboratories
(858) 248-2495
vdickey@mlml.calstate.edu
 

Channel Islands NMS
 

      Mr. Chris Mobley
Primary
Superintendent
(805) 893-6416
chris.mobley@noaa.gov
Mr. Michael Murray
Alternate
Deputy Superintendant & SAC Coordinator
(805) 893-6418
michael.murray@noaa.gov
 

Cordell Bank NMS
 

      Mr. Dan Howard
Primary
Superintendent
(415) 464-5261
dan.howard@noaa.gov
Mr. Michael Carver
Alternate
Deputy Superintendant
(415) 464-5262
michael.carver@noaa.gov
 

Elkhorn Slough NERR
 

      Mr. Dave Feliz
Primary
Reserve Manager
(831) 728-2822 x 302
dave.feliz@wildlife.ca.gov
Dr. Dan Brumbaugh
Alternate
Coastal Training Program Coordinator
(831) 728-2822 x 306
dan@elkhornslough.org
 

Greater Farallones NMS
 

      Ms. Maria Brown
Primary
Superintendent
(415) 561-6622
maria.brown@noaa.gov
Mr. Brian Johnson
Alternate
Deputy Superintendant
(415) 561-6622 x 236
brian.johnson@noaa.gov
 

Monterey Bay NMS
 

      Mr. Paul Michel
Primary
Superintendent
(831) 647-4201
paul.michel@noaa.gov
Ms. Dawn Hayes
Alternate
Deputy Superintendant
(831) 647-4256
dawn.hayes@noaa.gov
 

National Marine Fisheries Service
 

      Dr. Steven Lindley
Primary
Director, Fisheries Ecology Division
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(831) 420-3921
steve.lindley@noaa.gov
Dr. Steven Bograd
Alternate
Research Oceanographer, Environmental Research Division
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(831) 648-8314
steven.bograd@noaa.gov
 

U.S. Coast Guard
 

      LCDR Lee Crusius
Primary
Living Marine Resources Officer
US Coast Guard District 11
lee.k.crusius@uscg.mil
LT Jacob Joseph
Alternate
Living Marine Resources Officer
US Coast Guard District 11
jacob.e.joseph@uscg.mil


SAC OFFICERS:

  • Brian Nelson, Chair Elected June 2018
  • Margaret "PJ" Webb, Vice Chair Elected June 2018
  • Gary Pezzi, Secretary, Elected June 2018

FORMER OFFICERS:

  • Dan Haifley, Secretary Elected April 2014
  • Kirk Schmidt, Chair Elected April 2012
  • Margaret "PJ" Webb, Vice Chair Elected April 2012
  • Gary Pezzi, Secretary Elected April 2012
  • Margaret "PJ" Webb, Secretary Elected April 2010
  • Kirk Schmidt, Vice Chair Elected April 2008; Re-elected April 2010
  • Dr. Chris Harrold, Chair Elected April 2008; Re-elected April 2010
  • Kaitilin Gaffney, Secretary Elected February 2008
  • Rev. Deborah Streeter, Chair Elected April 2004
  • Thomas Canale, Vice Chair Elected April 2004
  • Kaitilin Gaffney, Secretary Elected February 2005
  • Dan Haifley, Elected February 2001; Re-elected April 2004
  • Stephanie Harlan, Chair Elected April 2000
  • Richard Nutter, Vice Chair Elected February 2001
  • Steve Webster, Chair Elected April 1998
  • Steve Abbott, Vice Chair Elected April 1999
  • Ed Brown, Secretary Elected April 1998;Re-elected April 2000
  • Rachel Saunders, Vice Chair Elected June 1997
  • Karin Strasser Kauffman, Chair Elected March 1994; Re-elected April 1996
  • Steve Webster, Vice-Chair Elected March 1994; Re-elected April 1995
  • Jim Hall, Secretary Elected March 1994
  • Steve Abbott, Secretary Elected April 1995
  • David Iverson, Secretary Elected April 1996; Re-elected June 1997